Journey into Honesty

I should start a series on all my shortcomings as a dietetic student and call it training the retro-dietitian. I feel like my life is in need of some updates. But I guess that’s a perpetual feeling.

Although I do feel like I am progressing in some areas of my life (spiritual), I’ve almost completely lost sight of the healthy aspects of my life.

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 1.49.02 PMAfter taking a break from work, and thus, from my monthly gym memberships (having both a CrossFit and Bikram membership is a luxury, I now realize)…                                                 And after running heavy with my running group and injuring my knee, the level of physical activity scheduled into my daily activities is now close to none. This is kind of disappointing, even for myself, after having been considered one of the most active people in my network of people.

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 1.48.30 PM

Don’t even get me started about the healthy eating part. I have gone from being food-blogging queen, constantly photographing food I made for Instagram and Tumblr, to someone who doesn’t cook at all.

Now, once upon a time, I probably wouldn’t have even thought of disclosing these types of details about my life. I mean, I’m studying to be a dietitian-I should be good at these things.                                                                                                      And as a blogger, well, I am supposed to teach people something (I guess). I would seem a bit like a hypocrite if I wanted to talk about healthy living when I constantly make mistakes myself, right?

Well… Actually… I have changed my mind about that kind of blogging. That might be what some people say I need to do, but ultimately this is a space with which I am free to do what I want. Whether I want to teach people something, or whether I just want to write for the clarity of my own understanding. And anyway, don’t we sometimes learn by witnessing the journey of others?

be-the-change-you-want-to-see-in-the-worldAnd as far as being a dietetic student, I think honesty might actually be just what I need. We talk about nutrition counseling more now that I am nearing my last year in the degree, and I realize that I am subject to the same behaviors as my future clients will be. Thus, I need to approach my own wellness journey as I would a client’s.

For me, that means I need to stop expecting perfection, which can be hard. I’m usually afraid to do something if I do not think I can do it well or near perfect. But, that’s just not realistic. I am just like everyone else. I love deserts and lazy days just as equally as I love my vegetables and hot yoga. So, I am going to try anyway. Hopefully, I will be brave enough to risk making mistakes AND share the journey here, and then maybe I will learn a thing or two about being a better retro-dietitian and a better writer.

Leave a Reply

